Regarding using NFTs to access Chainverse

I just had a call with amphiboly.eth regarding Chainverse FAQs, which is a document that details much of how Chainverse will operate.

One section we discussed was the following:

“Chainverse will restrict the number of NFTs available for minting to create scarcity; i.e. MVP edition 1/25, V0 edition 1/50, V1 edition 1/200. Scarcity rewards early customers with Alpha, enabling Diamond DAO to aggressively price Chainverse.”

We discussed it at length and I want to share some of my thoughts with the rest of the team.

1. I believe using NFTs for accessing Chainverse creates bad incentives (with low/moderate conviction).
  2. If we do use NFTs to access Chainverse, I am strongly opposed to limiting the number of these NFTs (with high conviction).

I am not an expert on such incentive structures. I may be entirely wrong here and would love to hear other opinions.

First, I’m mixed on using NFTs for access because allowing customers to resell their access creates bad incentives. I have low/moderate conviction in this view.

• For static cuts of data (ie: where a customer wants to use historical data with no need for continued updates), the customer is incentivized to purchase the NFT and then resell it immediately on a secondary market.
  • If an existing customer wishes to sell their NFT, they can do so on a secondary market by undercutting the official Chainverse price. (They will have to sell for slightly less than the official price we are selling for in order to be competitive). By reselling for cheaper, they will undercut our price and take our next customer. This will mean we are effectively competing with our own former customers.
  • New customers will be incentivized to buy NFTs on secondary markets for less than the price Chainverse is selling for.

Even if we take a % cut of subsequent NFT sales, the above two items in combination will make building a real business completely untenable.